Eat Like Your Cat?

So, it’s been a while since I last posted. But I’m back. I, unfortunately, lost one of my cats last December, which I’m still Ravenreeling from. He was the most amazing creature, rescued twelve years ago from the streets. This is his picture. He was diagnosed with a brain tumor and heart condition a year before he died. I am certain that his diet is what kept him going that last year, right till the end.

Then to start the new year off, I was diagnosed with vitamin D deficiency. Let me tell you, it really sucks! Luckily, I was diagnosed immediately. Many people have these crazy symptoms (heart palpitations, erratic blood pressure, erratic pulse, fatigue, depression, anxiety, aches and pains and many more symptoms) and their vitamin D levels are never checked and they are misdiagnosed with depression, MS, lupus, autoimmune disease, etc. It’s now stated by many experts that a high percentage of people worldwide are deficient. Go get yourself tested. You don’t want to experience this – EVER!

And as though this wasn’t enough, I thought a lifestyle change would do me good. I have been feeding my cats a homemade raw diet for over two years now and the changes they have experienced are great. Well, if an ancestral diet is good for them, then of course, I reasoned it would be good for me.

I am now living the Paleo Lifestyle. It is remarkable when you eat the foods your body was meant to have. Stripped down, the Paleo Lifestyle says:

  1. remove grains, legumes, and dairy from your diet,
  2. remove all processed foods,
  3. eat whole foods such as lean meats, fatty fish, vegetables and some fruits, nuts, and seeds,
  4. sleep more and better, and
  5. exercise in an ancestral way.

I am reacting to this “diet” and seeing the same results that my cats have experienced on their paleo diet. I have lost weight, without trying, I have more energy, my coat (err hair) is healthier and my skin glows.

I won’t go on and on about this, as this blog is for cats, and many others have dedicated their lives to getting the word out, but if you want more info you can custom tailor this lifestyle to suit you. Below are some books and sites that are extremely helpful, if you’re interested.

________________________________________________

Robb Wolf’s Book

Mark Sisson’s Blog

George Bryant’s Blog

Chris Kresser

Dr. Loren Cordain’s Book

Leave a Reply

